My Celiac Shame

When I come home and there is a fresh batch of blueberry muffins sitting on the stove cooling off, please make them gluten free. You can’t understand the food isolation I feel when you make this awesome-great smelling batch of food that I can’t eat. Watch everyone else just enjoy your homemade food. Really, it’s not any harder to get gluten free muffin mix and make that instead, or you know what? You could have made a batch of each. One regular and one GF.

It seems like an easy thing to do when you’re the person who has to stand on the outside and watch. Kind of like watching a sports game and being able to do what they do, or see what they can do to win a game, or make a better puck pass. Having home cooked food in the house shouldn’t make me feel so out of place. I shouldn’t feel bad when you make regular wheat flour based food and then ask me if they smell good. What is that? It’s disrespect.

When I was first diagnosed with Celiac Disease I did a lot of eating at home before going out and bringing my own food places, and really felt out of place. Like a food hermit. No one really cared about it, but I knew what I was doing and sometimes I felt ashamed because of it. I know now there is no reason for me to feel that way. Celiac was new to me, and to a lot of people around me. Sometimes the shame still gets me.

Head in Hands

Being offered a beer by a kind stranger as I do some lawn work for him. I have to decline because I can’t drink his beer. While it’s an opportunity to educate someone about my Celiac Disease, I’m just to ashamed to do it.

Being a little different by having Celiac Disease isn’t a big deal at all. I own it like a boss, but sometimes that feeling just gets a hold and I feel bad for myself because I don’t open my mouth or speak up about where we’re going to eat, or that you could have been a little more compassionate about the muffins.

I’ve been diagnosed with Celiac since 2008, and sometimes it’s still a struggle.

Rome wasn’t built in a day.

Tags: , ,

About kingglutenfree

Dealing with the daily struggles of Celiac Disease and being gluten free, King Gluten Free is the greatest gluten-free blogger in the world.

One response to “My Celiac Shame”

  1. theredheadedwheatlesswanderer says :

    I understand how you. Before when someone made me something it was nice, but I didn’t really appreciate it. Now, that if or when I want something I must make it myself, if someone makes me something it’s better than being given flowers. Sometimes while traveling this frustration becomes so great I have broken into tears. Even though it’s been three years some days it’s just hard to deal with. I’m glad to know I’m not the only person feeling this way.

Hey, Leave a Comment. That'd be cool.

